*62 FBD II 1 B Deserted islands

Brno Philharmonic Orchestra
Brno Philharmonic Orchestra

Sale and reservation | Seat select

Help Back to concerts


Ticket reservation (help). Use the mouse to select empty seat(s) and click. The empty seat will change colour to note that it is now marked for reservation. Clicking again will remove that ticket from your cart. Your whole order can be seen in the tab "Cart" (the rightmost tab) - place, row, seat number and total price. You need to enter your personal information and a verification code to finish the order. If you are entitled to a discount, you can apply for it by presenting the relevant identification at the Brno Philharmonic Orchestra Ticket Office when purchasing the tickets using cash or card.

*62 FBD II 1 B Deserted islands

7:30 PM

Besedni dum, Concert Hall

Philharmonic at home II “Classical and modern”

TOSHIO HOSOKAWA Meditation – To the Victims of the Tsunami, March 2011, BERND ALOIS ZIMMERMANN Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra, JOSEPH HAYDN Lʼisola disabitata (The Deserted Island), overture, Symphony No. 44 in E minor, Hob. I:44

Vilém Veverka oboe, Brno Philharmonic, conductor Alexander Liebreich

• One of the most respected contemporary composers, Toshio Hosokawa (born 1955) and his musical meditation about the natural disaster that struck Japan’s North-East shore in March 2011 • Work commissioned and premiered by the conductor Alexander Liebreich • Oboe concerto by Bernd A. Zimmerman (1918-1970), written in 1952, as a distinctive, virtuoso, polystylistic homage to Igor Stravinsky, worked out to the finest detail • On the eve of the 100th anniversary of the birth of the important German composer, a key figure of musical postmodernism • Papa Haydn and two works of his Sturm und Drang (Storm and Stress) period • Overture to an opera developing the story of two sisters, castaways on a deserted island • An early symphony, sometimes dubbed “Mourning”, probably due to Haydn’s wish for the Adagio to be played at his funeral

Back to concerts

Copyright © 2009 Brno Philharmonic Orchestra  |  Published by system inCMS  |  Webdesign Inexes